Parent Community

Our vibrant and active parent community helps to create a warm, cooperative atmosphere and sets a positive role model for our students. Parents volunteer a minimum of 10 hours per year in many roles, including committee work, classroom support, grounds and maintenance, and technical support.

Throughout the year, activities for parents and the whole family keep everyone informed and involved.

  • Parent Education nights are offered several times a year, covering various topics related to the Montessori philosophy, classroom materials, and parenting.
  • Parent Observations and Parent-Teacher conferences help to foster a strong bond between home and school.
  • Family Event activities are planned throughout the year to provide opportunities for families to get together outside of school time. Past activities include hayrides, family dances, bowling parties, Parent’s Night Out (with corresponding pizza-pajama party for the children), and an ice cream social.

2016-2017 Board of Directors

Executive Committee:

Katherine Parsons, President
president@oceanstatemontessori.org

Odessa Holt, President Elect
preselect@oceanstatemontessori.org

David Beauchesne, Treasurer
treasurer@oceanstatemontessori.org

Megan Mahoney, Secretary
secretary@oceanstatemontessori.org

Additional Board Members:

Cheryl Ellis
Margarita Guedes
Sarah Klump
Melissa Malone

School Committees

Building & Grounds
Robin Phfanning
buildinggrounds@oceanstatemontessori.org

Communications
Christina Spaight O'Reilly
communications@oceanstatemontessori.org

Community Events
Kara Evans
communityevents@oceanstatemontessori.org

Finance
David Beauchesne
treasurer@oceanstatemontessori.org

Fundraising
Sarah Klump and Brenda Fonseca
fundraising@oceanstatemontessori.org

Grants
Zoila Bergeron
grants@oceanstatemontessori.org

Strategic Planning
Thomas Klump
strategicplanning@oceanstatemontessori.org

Technology
Laura Cavanaugh
technology@oceanstatemontessori.org